Clearance Items

Advertise Here

Go Back   SailNet Community > Skills and Seamanship > Learning to Sail
 Not a Member? 

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 01-29-2009
Rookie Skipper

TonyInNewportOregon is on a distinguished road
Question What is a spring line, and how do I tie it?

I was told that if I tied a "spring line", I could eliminate some of the rocking and rolling I experience tied up in my slip.

First, what is a spring line? I know it has something to do with my center cleat, but know no more.

Second, how do I tie it?

And third, will it actually help?

Additionally, at present, I have lines tying up only my starboard stern and bow, but -- backed into my slip -- I also have a slip cleat available to my port stern and midships. Should I be doing anything there to help with the rocking and swaying.

I am a newbie, so talk to me as if I was 12. (Actually, I know a 12 year old sailor more knowledgeable than I, so ... )

Thanks
TonyInNewportOregon
Reply With Quote Share with Facebook
Old 01-29-2009

nk235 is on a distinguished road
Check out this video: Forward Spring Line Video
A spring line basically stops your boat from moving further forward or further aft. It is a line taken from either your stern and lead to a dock or piling in front of your boat or from the bow of your boat and led and tied off to a dock or mooring behind your boat.

for instance if your boat was backed into its slip like you describe and only has 2 lines from the stern to the dock, nothing is stoping your boat from slaming into the dock with its stern. If you take a spring line - a line lead from one side of your stern, led forward and tied off to a piling or dock forward of your boat - it will prevent your boat from moving backwards stern first into the dock
Old 01-29-2009

k1vsk will become famous soon enough
Springs are used for limiting the fwd and aft movement; how they could limit "rocking" is questionable.
Springs generally run fwd and aft from the mid=ship cleat.